When Ink Meets Skin

I decided to have a tattoo because, why not? 😀

Seriously, it was one of my biggest decisions in my life. It took me a year to decide if I would let my skin be pierced many times. There’s this workplace fret like how many people would react negatively in the process but eventually, it made me realize: SO WHAT? 😀 I wanted to get inked and they shouldn’t bother. My love for art is stronger than the hates (if there would be :D). I also want to break the dogma of stereotyping people with tattoo. -_-

My cousin and I talked about having a tattoo a year ago. At first we were quite perplexed of how painful the needle piercings would be. After a year of deciding, we consulted my brother of tattoo artists that he would refer to us and we found ourselves in the City of Tayabas. If you want to know how skillful our tat artist is, you may check his FB profile here.

My Tattoo Design

Choosing my tattoo design was also a dilemma :D. I thought of an anime-ish tat design but me, being a Sag, won. I chose the symbol of an archer.

THE DRAFT OF MY TATTOO DESIGN

So, here’s the tale of the tape of my tattoo’s healing process.

FRESH FROM ITS FIRST WASH. I used Safeguard body wash in washing away dirt and ink remnants from my skin after three hours of having this artistic wound. I also put an antibacterial cream just to make sure 😀 (first timer feels!)
REDNESS AND SCAB FORMATION. I had washed it twice a day and had patted it with a clean, dry towel which was followed by an antibacterial ointment.
Redness was still there with stingy but tolerable pain. Formed scabs became prominent.
It started to dry up and got a little itchy. My tattoo artist reminded me to never EVER scratch it no matter how itchy it would become. A few gentle slaps on my wound should ease the itch though.
Eventually, my tattoo began to peel. I suffered from the temptation of picking out the peelings. T_T By this day, I stopped putting antibacterial ointment and exchanged it with a moisturizer (Kojie San Dream White Anti-aging Overnight Cream).
Uggghh. The urge of wanting to peel it off! The itch went intense in this day.

Notice the difference each day. My tattoo continued to peel by itself without my help :). The embossed scabs immediately peeled out smoothly. Below is the photo of my fully healed tat.

I feel satisfied with the result after my tattoo healed completely. I’m also planning of adding colorful designs to my tattoo and I’ll put an update again on its healing process in my blog. 🙂

Leave a comment